Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Thoughts on Finals

Ça va? It goes and it goes and yes, it still goes. Finals week, that is. Actually, it finished about a week ago... but trust me, the after effects are still around. Everyone is exhausted (but honestly, is that not normal?) and completely done (as in, are you kidding me, hell no) with studying. Myself included. We took a "learning weaknesses" survey today, for example; guess what my result was? Apparently, unbeknownst to me, my weakness is.. what?... oh yes, concentration. Which should say something about me and about why a: I haven't posted anything in quite a bit of time and why b: I'm writing this now, and not doing this blasphemous thing called homework and c: why this post as of yet has absolutely nothing to do with anything.
I'll try to get back on track........
Anyway, finals and style.
What is there to even say? The thing about perpetual tests is that people would like to be this far fetched concept called comfortable (just kidding, not far fetched, just... I don't know, smart.) and so for most of us students of knowledge our sartorial points for the week go down the drain. A dismal prospect, right? Actually, I was actually pretty impressed as to what some people came up with. Like, who knew a tracksuit could be so cute? I envy the people who can dress in cut up t shirts and re-sewn sweatpants and still look incredibly chic and, oddly, sophisticated. It's like "Yes, I can wear these things and still make them look fabulous and make you very jealous, what, can't you do that too?" And then Í look at myself shifting around in my chair because my belt just does not fit right and looks cool but is uncomfortable and I think Damn. Where do these people get their style? And maybe I go home and try to find that kind of awesome outfit for finals next day and then nope, it just doesn't work for me. So I still wear just whatever dress.
Well, stylish sweatpant people, you win; I cannot access your attitude. Because I think that the most important part of it is the effortlessly cool "vibe" of these people. Ach. The girl in the picture?
See, that's me. I just freak out like her.
Ah well.

Alex

1 comment:

  1. I love the socks you put with your boots! You should literally make structured balloon socks to be specifically worn with your fabulous boots.

    ReplyDelete