Friday, January 22, 2010
So, to fill up the time, I'd like to share this with you. My mother is a genius at vintage and thrift shopping; it's definitely a way to get pieces you know no one else will have, and as for me, it certainly fits the unemployed teenage budget. Look at amazing coat she found - it's gorgeous. It's ivory colored leather, short sleeved, and with a salmon colored silk lining - how lovely a find is that? I'm in love with it.
Well, at least I'm trying.
As for now, exactly nothing sartorially exciting is or has been happening, so I have also posted exactly nothing. Unfortunately, or perhaps fortunately, I do not lead one of those fantastically sparkling fashionable lives, going from place to place with beautiful people all willing to let me draw them, or snap a photo of them.
To the unlikely possibility of anyone reading this blog, I will say this: Sit tight; some new post shall come, on this I swear!
Long live, well, we'll go with the Queen.
Long live the Queen.
In time,
Alex
To the unlikely possibility of anyone reading this blog, I will say this: Sit tight; some new post shall come, on this I swear!
Long live, well, we'll go with the Queen.
Long live the Queen.
In time,
Alex
Tuesday, January 19, 2010
Thoughts on Finals
Ça va? It goes and it goes and yes, it still goes. Finals week, that is. Actually, it finished about a week ago... but trust me, the after effects are still around. Everyone is exhausted (but honestly, is that not normal?) and completely done (as in, are you kidding me, hell no) with studying. Myself included. We took a "learning weaknesses" survey today, for example; guess what my result was? Apparently, unbeknownst to me, my weakness is.. what?... oh yes, concentration. Which should say something about me and about why a: I haven't posted anything in quite a bit of time and why b: I'm writing this now, and not doing this blasphemous thing called homework and c: why this post as of yet has absolutely nothing to do with anything.
I'll try to get back on track........
Anyway, finals and style.
What is there to even say? The thing about perpetual tests is that people would like to be this far fetched concept called comfortable (just kidding, not far fetched, just... I don't know, smart.) and so for most of us students of knowledge our sartorial points for the week go down the drain. A dismal prospect, right? Actually, I was actually pretty impressed as to what some people came up with. Like, who knew a tracksuit could be so cute? I envy the people who can dress in cut up t shirts and re-sewn sweatpants and still look incredibly chic and, oddly, sophisticated. It's like "Yes, I can wear these things and still make them look fabulous and make you very jealous, what, can't you do that too?" And then Í look at myself shifting around in my chair because my belt just does not fit right and looks cool but is uncomfortable and I think Damn. Where do these people get their style? And maybe I go home and try to find that kind of awesome outfit for finals next day and then nope, it just doesn't work for me. So I still wear just whatever dress.
Well, stylish sweatpant people, you win; I cannot access your attitude. Because I think that the most important part of it is the effortlessly cool "vibe" of these people. Ach. The girl in the picture?
See, that's me. I just freak out like her.
Ah well.
Alex
I'll try to get back on track........
Anyway, finals and style.
What is there to even say? The thing about perpetual tests is that people would like to be this far fetched concept called comfortable (just kidding, not far fetched, just... I don't know, smart.) and so for most of us students of knowledge our sartorial points for the week go down the drain. A dismal prospect, right? Actually, I was actually pretty impressed as to what some people came up with. Like, who knew a tracksuit could be so cute? I envy the people who can dress in cut up t shirts and re-sewn sweatpants and still look incredibly chic and, oddly, sophisticated. It's like "Yes, I can wear these things and still make them look fabulous and make you very jealous, what, can't you do that too?" And then Í look at myself shifting around in my chair because my belt just does not fit right and looks cool but is uncomfortable and I think Damn. Where do these people get their style? And maybe I go home and try to find that kind of awesome outfit for finals next day and then nope, it just doesn't work for me. So I still wear just whatever dress.
Well, stylish sweatpant people, you win; I cannot access your attitude. Because I think that the most important part of it is the effortlessly cool "vibe" of these people. Ach. The girl in the picture?
See, that's me. I just freak out like her.
Ah well.
Alex
Sunday, January 10, 2010
Define "Semi" Formal, if you please?
So today, I went "semi-shopping" with some girlfriends. Now, by "semi-shopping" I don't mean that we were only halfway perusing the countless racks of clothing at our local mall - that feat isn't even possible for such hardcore consumers. Just kidding. No, I mean that we went shopping for this odd concept called the "semi-formal" dance - that awkward social occasion in high school where no one really knows the dress code. I, as a lowly, unenlightened freshman, was especially confused by the lack of specifics in the name; I mean, really, semi-formal? So, I can just show up in jeans, a t-shirt, and wear some kind of crazy hat/bow tie mix, and call it fashionably correct?? No, this is not true, I've learned. When I showed up in Dillards, fashionably late (no, okay, I was just late. Car trouble. It was sad.) I came upon these racks...and racks.. and racks... of gorgeous satin and silk and polyester-blend confections of short dresses, amidst which I found my friends. I was secretly blown away! So THAT'S what semi-formal means, I thought! Wear the equivalent of a beautiful PROM dress, but several inches shorter. And so I became enlightened. My friends all ended up choosing awesome dresses and some really intense heels; I was super happy to be able to help pick them out. But, I'm still at a loss; and the thought of showing up in a t-shirt and jeans is still pretty hilarious. What to do, what to do?
Tuesday, January 5, 2010
Hello, all!
Hello, and greetings, and everything else! I guess this is the beginning of the blogging experience. Honestly, though, it's true what they say - a picture is worth a thousand words.
Lots of love,
Alex

p.s. - Aren't these the coolest boots? I saw them on a girl in line at Starbucks. I definitely had to draw them.
Lots of love,
Alex

p.s. - Aren't these the coolest boots? I saw them on a girl in line at Starbucks. I definitely had to draw them.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

